And So It Begins

Day 1 of surgery is successfully finished. And so it begins. Another field service has officially commenced.

We began this field service by doing 1 excision of a neck mass, 2 cleft lip repairs, 2 hernia repairs (1unilateral, 1bilateral), 1 burn scar contracture release, 1excision of toe mass, and 1 excision of lipoma. It was a good full schedule. Everyone was motivated and excited to work.

I spent this first day as the charge nurse with another short term nurse and Congolese nurse as my sidekicks. Together we made sure all the rooms ran efficiently. We also kept the hallway neat, the linen cart stocked, and organized equipment.

I gave Maryke a lunch break around noon. While I was in the room, I felt almost as if I were dreaming. Things in that moment just didn’t feel real. Why? I don’t know except for maybe because I haven’t done any surgery for 3 months? Thankfully the feeling passed quickly. It was kind of uncomfortable, in a weird rabbit hole sense. I know. I sound a little bit nuts, right?

We finished the day just after 5pm. One never knows how the end of the day will pan out. You have to be prepared to work late everyday. Sometimes it goes that way.

We have lovely day crew this year. Each one is a nurse. Each one is very intelligent. We are basically giving them a perioperative course, something new for Mercy Ships. It’s really exciting to be able to teach these folks what we know. And they’re all extremely excited to learn from us.

So we’re back in the thick of things. It’s almost as if we never stopped. It’s going to be a good year. πŸ™‚

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130902-191458.jpg

3 thoughts on “And So It Begins

  1. Dear Micey
    Good to hear you guys are full steam ahead! But just remember to have some fun too! Please, give my love to all your colleagues and tell then That I love you all very much!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • No worries Mia. I always try to have a little fun each day. πŸ˜ƒ I will be sure to pass on your love to my coworkers too. Thanks for all your encouragement.

Comments are closed.