August Newsletter

 
Pointe Noire Congo August 2013
Dear Friends & Family,
Greetings from Pointe Noire Congo! I arrived to the ship on the evening of 8/14 after 24 hours of travel time. I’m so glad I’m staying for awhile. It’s a very long trip! This puts me back on the ship for a little more than two weeks.
So what have you been doing since your return Michelle? I’m so glad you asked! I’m happy to report I’m back to work in the OR. We have been putting it all back together after a summer of being closed. So we’re scrubbing, waxing, arranging, and scrubbing some more. We’ve had many new crew join the ship over the last 2 weeks as the hospital gets ready to open, lots of doctors and nurses arriving. We’ve also had the international board visit to tell us about Mercy Ships plans for the future. This past week, we had Dana Perino from Fox News, The Five onboard to visit. She loves Africa and found out about Mercy Ships at a dinner. Then she saw the 60 Minutes broadcast and wanted to visit as well. She ended up broadcasting live via
Skype while she was here. Pretty cool!
And how was screening day? Another good question! This past Wednesday was the big
beginning of field service selection day. It’s the day we advertise all year. I know when I woke up, I prayed for thousands of people to come. The Lord sure heard my prayer. We had 7000+ people show up! It’s a new record for Mercy Ships! We spent 12+ hours meeting and
selecting patients. We filled up all the slots for all the specialities in no time.
I spent the day at the max fax station. This is my favorite speciality. We saw hundreds of people with cleft lips/palates, facial tumors, thyroid tumors, goiters, and neurological tumors.
This first month, we are privileged to have a neurosurgeon onboard to take care of this issue. This may also be a first for the ship? I’m not entirely sure. What I am sure of is God knew.
At the end of the day, we said yes to further study and/or surgery to 4236 people! Incredible! For the 3000 we said no to, they still had the chance to be seen, heard, and prayed over for God’s healing.
So what happens now Michelle? Boy, you ask good questions! Yesterday was the ship wide/hospital evacuation drill. We run through what to do in the event of a catastrophic scenario, just in case. It’s good preparation and good fun too. We also dedicated the hospital and all our work to the Lord. Tomorrow, 9/1, the first patients arrive for admission. Monday we begin surgery! W00t! I’m super excited. It’s been 3 months since I last did my job. I hope I haven’t forgotten anything. Ha!
Well that’s all for this month. I’ll be back with more news in September. As always, thank you for all your love, support, and prayers!
His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20Image
 
I hope you’ll join me on this journey. Support me with your thoughts, prayers, and emails… If you want to give financially that would be amazing too! Please go to: http://mercyships-us.donorpages.com/crewmates/andersonm/ or mail your gift to PO Box 1930, Garden Valley, Texas 75771 and reference my account number: 3248 or go to www.paypal.com and send money via my email address Email: micey13@gmail.com Blog: https://jesussavingmefromme.wordpress.com
Prayer Requests
• Wisdom for all procedures
• Endurance for all crew
• Safety for all patients
• Patients are loved well
• Patients meet Jesus
• Jesus is magnified
• God is glorified
4 thoughts on “August Newsletter

  1. What blessings you live and experience! What blessings you bring to the people of Africa. I look forward to reading about your new cases. You are such an inspiration to me. Much love.

Comments are closed.