Five Minute Friday: Worship

20130301-174203.jpg
Usually, you can find the FMF gang over @thegypsymama. However this week, you can find the gang over @(in)courage. Come join us!

The word this week is worship.

GO

So what do you worship? What do you value? What is most important to you?

Some of you know I work on a great big white ship of hope. On Wednesday, we began our field service to the people of Congo by holding our selection day. This is the day when anybody can come to be seen by us. This is the day we select the patients we will treat with life changing surgery. It’s a long day, 12 hours 30 minutes to be precise. It’s a full day, a record breaking 7000+ people came through the line. It’s a hard day, 3000+ were people we couldn’t help. It’s a joyful day, 4236 people will receive either follow up testing, surgery, or both.

Worship is about choice. We worship what we can’t live without. When I prayed for selection day, I prayed for thousands to come. God answered my prayer. Even though we can’t help everyone, everyone had the opportunity to look into the eyes of love, to be seen, to be heard.

I had this flash in my mind of this massive line of people who began waiting for us 24 hours before we even began. And then I had a flash of the massive lines of people who will begin waiting 24 hours in advance for the great gadgets they’ll be able to purchase on Black Friday. What a contrast!

So… What do you worship? I worship the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth.

The people of Congo? Happily, many of them worship him as well. Hopefully, many of them will come to our ship and see Jesus. I pray for the ones who are just not quite sure who or what to worship, for the ones who are hoping above all hopes that what they’ve heard about Jesus is true, to receive their sight, literally and spiritually.

Psalm 69:30-33 I will praise God in a song and will honor him by giving thanks. That will please the Lord more than offering him cattle, more than sacrificing a bull with horns and hoofs. Poor people will see this and be glad. Be encouraged, you who worship God. The Lord listens to those in need and does not look down on captives.

STOP

I confess this took much longer than 5 minutes. I didn’t get to blog yesterday because we have Dana Perino on board this week and she broadcast live on The Five from the ship. It required all our internet forces to be used. *Africa Mercy Problems* So I had a lot to say. 🙂

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Also linked with Spiritual Sundays

20130823-170925.jpg

20130830-082102.jpg

20130830-082114.jpg

20130830-082139.jpg

20130830-082153.jpg

20130830-082228.jpg

20130830-082241.jpg

20130830-082253.jpg

20130830-082316.jpg

20130830-082336.jpg

20130830-082406.jpg
The first four photos and the last photo are photos I took. All the rest belong to Jay Swanson or Catherine Murphy.

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Worship

  1. I told you I loved your blogs name in my response to your comment on mine. I had to swing through and “see” you in your space. So happy I came. What an incredible life…what incredible work. My first baby is a son adopted from Burundi. He’s 12 now. The Congo will always be part of my spiritual heritage. Loved your post. A great reminder as we head into the holidays and the “shopping season” begins. the numbers you gave also made the work you do so real and relevant. The pix, a bonus. Bless you as you continue in Jesus name.

    • Thank you so much Lisha! Your children are beautiful! Africa is so special. I’ve been to Uganda, Ghana, Guinea, and now Congo Brazzaville. So much diversity. So many beautiful people. I am blessed. Happy FMF!

  2. Pingback: Five Minute Friday — Worship | thehopejourneythroughChrist

  3. Dear Micey
    Oh, I am overjoyed that you can help more than 50% of the dear people. I am also so grateful and want to thank you all for serving our Pappa through the other 3000 with His love!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • I am overjoyed we can help more than 50% of the people too! It was a good good day. Thank you for your prayers. Surgery starts Monday. ❤

  4. Wow, what a blessing Mercy Ships is (are?) And what a blessing you are. Thank you for sharing your adventures and the wonderful pictures.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Comments are closed.