It Takes Courage To Be Sidelined

I have gained a whole new appreciation for the courage it takes for an athlete to be sidelined.

I woke up yesterday with a very sore back. I obviously pulled muscles across my lower back, but I couldn’t figure out how. I went to work, carried on with scrubbing and cleaning things, choosing what I hoped wasn’t the most strenous labor.

After work, I stayed in my bed. I heated up the rice and lavender bag my sister gave me. I used it for a couple of hours hoping it would loosen the muscles.

I woke up this morning feeling even worse than yesterday. I went down to work. I realized very quickly I wasn’t going to be very useful. And the voice of discouragement started. You can’t pull your weight. Why are you even here? You should just pack your bags and go home. They’ll never need somebody like you.

I tried to shut out the voice. I tried to do what I could. My co workers knew I wasn’t okay. One girl suggested I help the girls sorting instruments. Then another co worker offered her nerve stimulator to make the pain stop. I said I would try it.

I just began to cry because I really want to work. I want to pull my weight. Everyone was super supportive. They wanted me to rest. They were saying at least the field service hasn’t started yet. Now there’s time to rest.

After this, I picked up the nerve stimulator and went to my cabin. Jen told the people in charge what was happening. Soon there was a knock on my door. The new OR director, Corne, and Missy, now the assistant director, came to pray for me for healing. I appreciated it so much. After this, I spent the day in bed with heat, muscle relaxer, and a nerve stimulator.

Right now, my back feels much better. I’m going to have one more tablet, some more heat, and one more dose of nerve stimulation. I really believe God will restore this old back by the morning.

Please pray for my back issues. I have a very old injury that gives me a lot of grief. Please pray for my back to be healed and fully restored. I don’t want this to be the thing that keeps me from doing what the Lord has called me to do. Thank you for praying for me!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130820-191958.jpg
Gift of appreciation from some of the day workers from Guinea

6 thoughts on “It Takes Courage To Be Sidelined

  1. Dear Micey
    I am so sorry to hear of your back. I will definitely ask Pappa for complete healing. May He fill your heart with peace to know that you are completely in His hand! Love you, dear sister.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Comments are closed.