Stylin’ The OR Seatbelt

If I haven’t mentioned it, I’m back in my OR home. I’m so happy about that too. 🙂 Today was my first full day back on the job.

The next two weeks are all about unpacking the stuff, cleaning, cleaning, and more cleaning. Today we cleaned a couple of ORs. We gathered all the different pieces of equipment to take an inventory of what we have. *A little bird told me there are brand new pieces of surgical equipment to replace old, worn out pieces. Hooray! Presents!*

Montez from the deck department came to replace all the hepa filters. I spent half a day washing the filter covers. They were covered in huge amounts of dust and grime.

Even though there is a lot of work to do to get the OR up and running, we have a lot of fun doing the work. Everyone is very relaxed. We get to enjoy two coffee breaks a day with each other. *There’s always time for coffee* We also enjoy an hour lunch break. 🙂

Next Wednesday is the big screening/selection day. This is the day the people with surgical ailments come and have their history & physical taken. They are assessed by the various surgeons as to whether they are surgical candidates. If they are candidates, they receive and appointment card with the date of their surgery. It is one of the most exciting days of the field service.

I checked my screening day assignment today. I’ll be on the maxfax team! I love the maxfax team. Dr Gary is a dream to work with. He’s just a really lovely person and a fantastic surgeon. I’d let him work on anyone I know. 🙂 Speaking of Dr Gary, be sure to read Dana Perino’s interview with him.

Tomorrow we clean out cupboards. Good times!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130819-185708.jpg

4 thoughts on “Stylin’ The OR Seatbelt

  1. Dear sweet Micey
    It looks as if you need another vacation already!! Just joking! I am so glad you guys are on the roll again. Praying for you and your team for next week.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Comments are closed.