Home Is Where The Ship Is

Three flights and a little more than 24 hours later, I am back on the beautiful big white ship I call my home! What a relief to arrive. What a miracle to have all my stuff arrive with me at the same time!

Lufthansa was a dream to fly with. The crew were very professional and friendly. The planes were very comfortable as far as planes go. I had the pleasure of sitting in the emergency row on the first leg and the bulkhead on the second leg. More leg room than I’ve had in a long time, but I’m really looking forward to sleeping in a bed tonight.

Going through customs and immigration was surprisingly smooth on both ends. The only small blip was in the form of a customs agent here in Congo wanting to search the Mercy Ships bag of medical supplies. Once the woman realized what I was carrying and who I was carrying it for, she smiled and said, Mercy Ships! No problem. You may go.

On the other side of the exit, I was greeted by two ladies from the ship. We picked up two other crew members and made our way back to the ship in the dark African night. I’m looking forward to seeing Congo in the daylight tomorrow.

When we arrived back to the ship, we were held up briefly at the gate because we didn’t have ID. After checking our passports with the list, we were cordially welcomed and let inside.

The people here seem to be very open and friendly. I think it’s going to be a really good year! Thanks for all your prayers and support!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130814-223956.jpg

3 thoughts on “Home Is Where The Ship Is

  1. glad you had a good trip. Can’t believe how quickly those days flew by when you were stateside. I was thinking about you and your sons today.. thinking how proud you must feel watching one of them flex his Christian ministry muscle (going to Haiti ) well time to get ready to eat. later- DM

  2. Pingback: What dreams are made of… | Creating J.Lyn

Comments are closed.