Finding Hope In A Doubting Thomas

John 20:24-29

Now Thomas, one of the Twelve, called the Twin, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.”

Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.” Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

As the regular readers of this blog know, I am confident there are just 3 people in my family who truly know the Lord, myself, my younger son, and one aunt. I have a pretty big extended family. I’m confident most of these believe in God. Then there are the ones that are on the fence. Some want to believe, but they can’t get past the if God is good, why? question. Lastly, there is my older son who is really quite angry at God, like I used to be, but is realizing there has to be some sort of higher power in the universe.

I’ve spent a lot of time crying over these people I love. I just want them to know God the way I’ve come to know Him. I want to know we will be together in heaven. I want God to guarantee me my family. But who am I to demand such a thing? Where is my faith?

Here’s what I know for certain. God is good. He walks with me. He leads me. He provides for me. He protects me from my enemies. He blesses me with good gifts. He heals me when I’m sick. He adopted me into His family. He never stopped pursuing me, even after I told Him I hated him and wouldn’t ever speak to Him again. If God would do all this for me, a sinner, I have to believe He will do it for my family.

Yesterday, I was reading a post by my friend Neil. I was reminded of the above passage. Suddenly it occurred to me, if Jesus would appear to His own apostle Thomas in the flesh after his resurrection, to lay his doubts to rest, then why couldn’t He do the same now?

The Bible says after we die, we all face judgement. All of us. Mine will be different in that I believed without seeing. But what about the doubters, the ones who just couldn’t wrap their brains around the possibility?

Thomas spent 3 years in the physical presence of Jesus. Three. Years. And he still doubted! But it didn’t stop Jesus from coming to him specifically, to allow him one last opportunity to choose Him!

What a gift God has given me by speaking this scripture into my mind, to reveal something I never really saw before! My heart is exploding with hope and joy! And my certainty, my love for, my faith in God grows even deeper!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Linking with #TellHisStory.

20130807-085654.jpg

20130807-083725.jpg

Bake Oven Knob! #goodday

A post shared by Lexi Anderson (@lexx_andersonn) on

10 thoughts on “Finding Hope In A Doubting Thomas

  1. Praying that the Lord does make a special visitation to those in your extended family who may be on the cusp of believing. Love the hope you found in the Thomas story!

  2. Michelle, it is lovely to meet you through #Tell His Story. I think the story of Thomas assures me that doubting is common to all of us. Moses is my role model for the way God can use someone who doubts his own abilities. I love your heart crying out for your family members to know Christ. And God is so good to give you revelation and hope through his word.

  3. Dear Micey
    I am praying for your family everytime I read your posts! Hang in there, dear one, it took a while for my children to get to know Jesus as well. I am looking forward to the day when Pappa will lead them into His Kingdom for desires them to be with Him even more than you do!
    Love you lots XX
    Mia

Comments are closed.