I’m a survivor

As I was surfing the blogs I like to read, I came across this post from a fellow blogger and real life friend, Lyli Dunbar. Suddenly, I knew the Lord was speaking to me in a way I wasn’t able to hear Him before.

I’ve been living like a victim for years, at least since the age of 16. I’ve been looking at my life as a victim of circumstance, death of a parent, bad marriage, poor choices. It’s a really bad way to live and I’ve been living this way for 34 years, right up until today.

But all of those things are over. I survived all of those things by the grace of God. I need to stop thinking the way I’ve been thinking. I need to take my thoughts captive to the obedience of Christ. I need to remember I’m a survivor because God was and is with me. He was with me then, leading me through darkness into His marvelous light. And now He’s leading me forward into a future I can’t see. But as long as He is with me, I will survive the hard things. I’m a survivor.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

5 thoughts on “I’m a survivor

  1. Dear Micey
    I understand that feeling, dear friend. You need to keep in mind that after 34 years, your mind is quite comfortable in travelling down the Sorry Susie road and it will take a while to unlearn this thinking patterns and teach your mind to go along the road of forgiveness, love and grace. Be patient with yourself, dear friend. It gets easier with time.
    Much love and praying for you XX
    Mia

Comments are closed.