The Joys and Hardships of Living in Community

I know I’m sharing a lot of posts I’m my friends lately. It’s only because they are good and true. This post is from my friend Nick Cash. He says so clearly what living in community is about. I don’t think I could say it as well. So I say thank you Nick! Thank you for your willingness to share. Thank you and your beautiful family for being my friends. I love you guys! I can’t wait to see you again! Enjoy this post :).
His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

LikeTreesPlanted

afm11This week, we will celebrate our one-year anniversary of being on the m/v Africa Mercy After five weeks of training in Texas followed by our three-week field service in Ghana last year, we joined the ship on August 2, 2012.

This vacation we just took over this past summer to go back home was our first return trip as a family since we left back on June 8, 2012.  Being our first trip home, we encountered lots of amazing love and support and welcome…  Lots of smiles and hugs…

And lots and lots of questions!  (Which is good — we like questions! — we’d rather respond to what people really want to know than just guess and talk and bore everyone!).

One of the top questions we received was, “What is the hardest part about life on the ship?”  Our answer to that question: living in community. …

View original post 652 more words

4 thoughts on “The Joys and Hardships of Living in Community

  1. I too have lived in community for a year and 1/2 (married with 2 toddlers and a pregnant wife) Boy could I write you a long letter on this one..and completely agree with the writer..it is HARD and it is good. We lived on a 10 acre youth camp/church that had an intensive active christian body life dynamic. Plus most of the guys I worked with also attended the church and my boss was one of the elders of the church. 24 years later that whole experience still casts a long shadow over my life (in a good way) I understand how to address issues rather than just stuff it. Enjoy your time back stateside and if you ever want to interact more on this issue, feel free to shoot me a note. I’m all ears 😉 DM

  2. Hi Micey,
    Such an interesting perspective on community living. The..”.and then I get in my car and drive home” really struck a cord with me. As Americans we do just that don’t we? Show up smile and drive away to where its comfortable. It reminds me of the book of Act where the first Christians sold everything and spent then lived in community breaking bead, praying with other believers, and serving the poor.
    You are living Acts. That is really cool, and incredibly hard at the same time at same time I am sure.
    Cheers,

Comments are closed.