receptionist’s log: night shift edition

20130710-053728.jpg

There are many reasons one shouldn’t work the night shift. What follows is just one reason.

For the last 2 nights, I’ve been focused on psychiatric disorders. Oh yes. I’ve had episodes of depression over my lifetime. I’ve had visits with therapists and psychiatrists. I’ve had diagnoses. Every time I struggle with mood issues, I try to psychoanalyze myself, which makes me wonder if any of the doctors ever had a clue what was or is wrong with my brain in the first place? Did they diagnose me, or did they go with what I suggested was wrong? They don’t call it practicing medicine without good reason.

Tonight, I found myself wondering just how many psychiatric disorders there are? So I googled it. According to the DSM IV, there are only 250. Seven billion people on the planet with issues, and there are only 250 neat little disorders to pigeonhole people into? How can that be? Is it because most people don’t seek help for their problems? Why do I feel this incessant need to have an explanation for why I am the way I am? Who wants to be labeled anyway? The label implies you’re destined to be the same way all of your life. It just bugs me.

When I ask God why, He doesn’t say anything. Well, that’s not entirely true. His Word says I am a new creation, loved, blessed, adopted, forgiven. When will those labels fully sink in? Why do the world’s labels still matter?

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

7 thoughts on “receptionist’s log: night shift edition

  1. Dear Micey
    Once I realized that as humans we have one of two choices: either living in Jesus, or living in Satan (the whole world lies in the evil one ( somewhere in Ephesians I think), it is a wonder that so many people are still “sane” .
    Blessings
    Mia

  2. My dear friend, you define the whole human condition. We are fallen and how quickly we forget the grand design we are, especially through Jesus. These are struggles we all face and I will tell you something I do that helps me. Well, blogging for one—my photography truly brings me joy. The other is I try to focus on thankfulness—the little things in my life that bring me joy. On some dreary days it might be so small and simple, like the smell of fresh coffee or a smell-good candle. Other days are bursting with so much. I try to savor those moments and utter a prayer of thanks.
    Another thing I did was start a page of thankfulness to capture images of each day, dailies that bring joy. I picked the idea up from another blogger and I started last month. It’s right there on my blog. I call it The Joy Page and it captures things I’m thankful for. It’s been a lot of fun and makes me smile when I work on it and look it over.
    And one more thing. I’ve worked nights and the sleep deprivation can make your mind think in irrational ways. Thus, a good night’s (or good days’) sleep helps, too. 🙂 Hang in there.

    • Thankfully, tonight is my last night shift for the forseeable future. I definitely don’t sleep well. And I do think the weird sleeping does effect my brain in a negative way. Love your joy page! What a great idea! Thank you for your words of encouragement. =)

Comments are closed.