receptionist’s log: 29 June 13

Reception has been pretty action packed these last two days. Let me give you the run down.

I had my first 911 call. As soon as the phone rang, my heart started racing. I answered the phone and noted the phone number. The man on the other end sounded funny. He didn’t say much. Then the line disconnected. I called the number back immediately and got a busy signal. So I contacted the duty officer to go to the cabin. Then I paged the 911 emergency group. After several nail biting minutes passed, the duty officer called to say everything was okay. False alarm. When I found out who made the call, I explained the importance of saying, oh sorry, wrong number. I also told him that as his friend I will never let him forget it. Haha! 😉

After the 911 incident, I had a call from a man in Nigeria asking when the ship is due to arrive in the Congo. I told him we should be there around the 9th of August. Then he asked when he should come to the ship because he needs surgery on his maxilla. I was surprised he knew the term, maxilla. He didn’t seem to believe me when I said I didn’t know when the screening was taking place. He asked again when he should come to the ship because he needs surgery. I told him to call back on Monday. After all, he did call after business hours on a Friday. I think it’s safe to assume there will be one person anxiously waiting for our arrival. 🙂

Today, we’re having a ship blackout. Yes it’s planned. No power, but the phones work and the wifi works. Go figure? It makes it hard to check people in and out. I don’t see well in the dark. Hopefully the power comes back soon. In the meantime, I will praise the Lord because He is good.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130629-165730.jpg

6 thoughts on “receptionist’s log: 29 June 13

  1. Dear Micey
    I see you are becomming quite skilled at reception!! Not to worry, you are not the only one who don’t know what maxilla is! Going to google it now!
    Blessings
    Mia

    • Haha Mia! Being an OR nurse I actually DO know what a maxilla is. I was surprised the caller used the technical term. A maxilla is the upper jaw bone. FYI. 😀

  2. After that 911 call you’ll be ready for the next one — real or not! Love hearing your adventures. I know God’s blessing is on you.

Comments are closed.