not so super “super” power

Did you ever meet a person and instantly feel something was wrong with him? Like he’s wearing a mask of deception, pretending to be something he isn’t, posing? It happens to me more than I like. Maybe because of my history in dealing with bad people, I’ve developed a keen sense of reading a person? Or maybe it’s the Holy Spirit whispering warning to me to be on guard? Whatever it is, I struggle in dealing with it now, given the directive of my Savior to love everyone, including my enemies.

After I became a Christian, I returned to a state of naΓ―vetΓ© that was almost the destruction of my fragile new faith. I decided that every Christian I met must be a good person if they said Jesus was their Savior, right? Boy was I wrong. I’ve met a few “Christians” over the years that set off that warning signal in my gut. I’ve tried to convince myself I’m wrong, but dang it all if they didn’t turn out to be the wolves I thought they were.

I’m always sad when I’m right. I’m always deeply disappointed too. I often wonder why God would choose to allow a cynic like me to have this gift? I never really know what to do when I find out I’m right about someone? Do I steer clear of him? Do I blow the whistle on him? Do I warn others to watch their back? And how do you do that without being a gossip or slanderous? Jesus did warn us to watch out for the enemy among us. He comes to steal, kill, and destroy. Am I paranoid? I don’t think so. I’m acutely perceptive. But how do I navigate the world of unconditional love when I don’t trust the motives of some?

This is what I’ve been thinking about today.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Read more stories like this over at Jennifer Dukes Lee’s Blog.

20130626-201336.jpg

11 thoughts on “not so super “super” power

  1. Dear Micey
    You ask a good and valid question, but I think the way Jesus treated the false religious leaders might be a good example of how He saw these kind of people. But He also said that we should let the wheat and the takes grow together for the angles will do the separating in the end. I think a good warning to others as Jesus leads you will suffice!
    Much love XX
    Mia

  2. I pray that the Holy Spirit can guide you, and that your love of Christ, and of His people, will help you know how to respond. Thank you for contributing to #TellHisStory.

  3. Micey, the New Testament epistles are filled with wisdom written to people who were learning how to live faithfully in a hostile society, and dealing with those who would turn out to be false. The overarching theme we see there is to entrust ourselves to the Lord, understanding that all who would live godly in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, and that there are many who are simply spiritual infants; we are called to grow and to come alongside others and encourage them to grow, bearing the fruit of the Spirit in all these things (handling them gently, patiently, kindly); God promises to give wisdom to those who ask it of Him, and to do so without reproach. The Proverbs tell us it is readily available if you seek it like silver. It is not necessary to be a doormat, but at the same time, sacrificial, dying-to-self love for the ill-deserving and undeserving is what we are called to; just as Christ has loved us. The Holy Spirit will teach you as you seek Him in the Word that He authored and imprints on your heart as you study and meditate on it.

    Will be praying for you in these things. God bless.

  4. I have been burnt by Christians before. Many times! My hair stands on end when someone hits me with the Bible from the first second or sits with an open Bible on his/her desk. Pray for guidance and remain alert! They will be exposed soon enough! Hugs and prayers.

Comments are closed.