rhythm

20130301-174203.jpg
Where a flash mob of folks spend five minutes all writing on the same topic and then share ‘em over @thegypsymama.

This week, the word is rhythm.

GO

I play the flute. I’ve played since third grade. But I’ve always wanted to play the guitar.

My dad played the guitar. When I was a child, he was my hero. I wanted to be like him. I am musical because of him.

He also liked to whistle. He could whistle beautiful tunes, so I made it my mission to whistle beautiful tunes too.

I was born with a gift from my Heavenly Father. I have rhythm. I tried my hand at guitar, but it never worked out. My hands a too small.

When I came to the Africa Mercy and discovered the ukulele club, my dream of playing a stringed instrument was re-awakened. I bought myself a ukulele while I was home this past winter. Now I’m playing a stringed instrument, like my dad. 🙂 I love the simple rhythmic strumming patterns. They take me away to beautiful memories of my past, sitting at the feet of my dad as he played his guitar for us.

STOP

Love… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

6 thoughts on “rhythm

  1. Dear Micey
    The ukelele is a cute little instrument; just right for small hands! Glad you can now follow in your father’s footsteps.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  2. Rhythm is surely the music of the soul. It’s all around us. Humans have looked to emulate nature in all its moods and sounds; sometimes with surprising results.Enjoy your music. Making music is one of life’s greatest pleasures. ‘The song of the birds for mirth’ said Rossetti – can’t do better than emulate them.

Comments are closed.