the night the lights went out

Last night I was sleeping, minding my own business when suddenly the noise stopped. Then the alarms rang to signal the fire doors were closing. You never really comprehend how noisy the Africa Mercy is until the power fails. Deafening silence.

I jumped out of bed. I made my way to the cabin door. I threw open the door. The hallway was lit by the emergency lights. It was actually brighter than I thought it would be. I looked at my watch. It was 2:30am.

I went back inside my cabin. I phoned reception. Nobody knew why the power failed. I tried to go back to sleep, but I was too excited to find out the scoop. I made my way up to reception I offered the night receptionist a bathroom break. The lights came back on.

As the ship powered back up, she made all kinds of weird and creepy noises. Crisis averted, I made my way back to my cabin. I made a note on Facebook, crawled back in bed, turned the lights out, and went back to sleep. Estimated time of power failure = 1 hour.

Love… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130617-163229.jpg
Panorama of the beach today

4 thoughts on “the night the lights went out

  1. A power failure at home is one thing, but I imagine that a power failure on a boat could be a little scary! Glad it was nothing 🙂

Comments are closed.