receptionist’s log: 12 June 13

Working in reception has made me realize, all the more, my lack of certain people skills. I know!? Hard to believe since I work in a people industry! But don’t forget! I work in the operating room, where the clientele are only awake for 5 minutes. I can tolerate almost anything for brief periods of time. Customer service is not my gift. I’m working outside the box here. But God knows what he’s doing, of that I’m sure. I know this summertime job is for my own good. I know it will teach me things I desperately need to improve on, like good phone etiquette and patience. There’s no such thing as too much patience. You never hear anyone complain about how patient someone is.

Exciting moments in my day included:
– all the fire doors mysteriously alarming and closing on decks 3&4
– talking to the duty officer on the radio
– embarking crew
– disembarking crew
– figuring out how to call the UK from Spain

I’m learning new things at every turn. It’s fun to learn new things. It’s fun to be informative. 🙂 Tomorrow, I do touristy things. W00t!

Love… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130612-142921.jpg

4 thoughts on “receptionist’s log: 12 June 13

  1. I am reading “Puerto de las nièves” 😉 That place was just in good walking distance when Jean and I were in holdidays on canary island last year (we stayed in a beautiful place in Agaete Valley) . Hope, you will have time to enjoy the quiet places of the island, too, and not only reception and Las Palmas… *hugs*

    • Hi Miriam! I’m planning to go to Agaete tomorrow with a friend. I’m looking forward to exploring the island. Should be lots of fun.

  2. Dear Michele
    The work of a receptionist and a secretary is not easy, I know! Strongs, dear friend! Just keep on giving everyone your beautiful smile and you will be a’okay.
    Blessings
    Mia

Comments are closed.