rain

Today was the last day to turn in Guinea francs before sailing. I don’t have that many, so I decided a little shopping was in order. After work, Leanne and I headed into town. As we left the port, we got to hitch a ride with two of the awesome Dutch ship officers. It was so nice to be dropped off right next to the place we wanted to go. It saved us a lot of sweat. 🙂

Our first stop was the women’s co-op to look for African clothing. We didn’t see anything too interesting there so we made our way to the African wood shop around the corner. This shop was awesome. There were thousands of wood carvings to choose from. But the coolest part was out back, a cage full of porcupines! I ended up paying way too much money for a wood carving of the African continent. But I made up for it by getting a wood carving of a kora for a steal. I also got a porcupine quill for free! Leanne got a really cute hippo.

Our next stop was going to be Niger market, but when we stepped outside, the sky was an ominous shade of green/black. We started our hasty retreat to the ship instead. As we reached the port gates, the wind whipped up the dirt and trash. I could feel the rain begin to fall. We started running. I ran until I couldn’t run anymore. As we reached the end of the ship, the sky opened up. By the time we ran the length of the ship, we were drenched. We just laughed. Leanne said it was the longest shower she’s had since arriving on the ship. 🙂

Love… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130527-211738.jpg
Rain!

20130527-211811.jpg
African treasures

5 thoughts on “rain

  1. Dear Micey
    That wood carving of the African continent is truly something special. Oh yes, my friend, don’t underestimate those hot sweltering African rainstorms. It can be quite heavy!
    Blessings

    • Hahaha! We sure got wet! I was better than getting stuck under an overhang for a couple of hours waiting for the rain to stop. Note to self, carry umbrella in bag. 😀

  2. Pingback: Awaiting the Monsoons as always :) | Pins N Ashes

Comments are closed.