comfort

20130301-174203.jpg
Where a flash mob of folks spend five minutes all writing on the same topic and then share ‘em over @thegypsymama.

This week the word is comfort.

GO

Life happens. It’s all around us everyday. We travel back and forth, up and down, to and fro. We pass by each other like ships in the night. We are mostly alone in the world. We enter it alone. We leave it alone. But sometimes we become acquainted. Sometimes we meet through circumstances and find out we have things in common. My dad died when I was sixteen. Oh! Your dad died then too? I am a nurse. Oh! So are you? I’m from Pennsylvania, but I live in Africa. You too?! The longer I live, the more people I meet who share commonalities with me. I find a lot of comfort in that.

STOP

Love… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130510-091204.jpg

13 thoughts on “comfort

  1. Huh, that’s an interesting thought! I hadn’t really considered about how we enter and leave the world alone… It’s true. That’s a solo journey alright! And yet life is spent with people (or, should be 🙂 I like how you captured such a strong point with such few words!

  2. Dear Michele
    I live in Africa to and cannot with for the Mercy ship to dock at either Port Elizabeth or East London so that I can come and meet you. Still praying for you guys!
    Blessings
    Mia

  3. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Comfort | Even A Girl Like Me

  4. Girl,
    I’ve been having these same thoughts lately, about how we are essentially alone, but we find our comfort in one another. You wrote it so well. Thank you for sharing. You are very gifted – this coming from the girl swaying in the hammock. Yeah, the lazy one.

  5. There was a lovely article on Mercy Ships in our newspapers today and on the South Africans who serve on it. I thought of you when I read the article. You are a blessing!!

  6. late in reading up on 5 min fri posts…liked what you said…yes we do spend much of life alone…even if you are in a big family or a social butterfly…its what’s goes on inside our heads and the deep aches inside. I guess its the discovery that while we go through that inner turmoil of character growth alone, our experience is “such as is common to man”. And you are right, that is comforting.
    Cheers,
    Leah

Comments are closed.