dreaming…

Everyone dreams. It’s part of the sleep cycle. I generally don’t remember my dreams. After my dad died, he would visit me in my dreams. I would always wake up crying because I knew he was dead. I was happy and sad to see him all at the same time. My dad died 33 years ago. Over the years, the dreams gradually tapered off. But this morning, just before waking up, he came. He was singing an old hymn. I don’t remember exactly which hymn. I know it was something like Praise God from whom all blessings flow… I remember saying out loud I didn’t know you knew any praise songs! Then my dad said something I’m sure was encouraging me about going to Africa. It began with him saying, remember the words of Martin Luther King Jr… Then I woke up. Tears were falling from my eyes. The same happy/sad feeling 33 years later. My dad never went to church. I didn’t get a chance to really know him because I was a kid when he died. I don’t know what he believed in. But when I woke up this morning, my tears were more happy than sad. I believe God let me see my dad in heaven, praising him. I know God fulfills my dreams. This is faith.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130420-113737.jpg

8 thoughts on “dreaming…

  1. What a beautiful post. It makes me sad you didn’t get to know your father. You sure know our Heavenly Father though. Someday you’ll meet your earthy father in Heaven. Won’t that be a glorious day?

  2. I am so happy for you Michelle that God brought you that experience. I know that He speaks to me in my dreams, of which I have been having alot lately. As you know, I was also a kid when my dad passed. I didn’t really know him either, but I do know that he believed in God…and I do believe that he is in heaven. You are doing amazing things with the gifts that you have been blessed with…and now your dad is saying good job my beautiful daughter!

Comments are closed.