death of a cynic…

cyn·i·cal
/ˈsinikəl/
Adjective
Believing that people are motivated by self-interest; distrustful of human sincerity or integrity.
Doubtful as to whether something will happen or is worthwhile.
Synonyms
cynic – sardonic

Hi! My name is Michelle and I am a reforming cynic. Oh, before Jesus I was a full fledged, card carrying cynic.

20130407-102240.jpg

How did this happen Michelle? It started at a very young age. I felt rejected by someone very close to me. It didn’t take long to feel that way about most people. I believe by the age of 12, I was close to being a full fledged cynic. The tipping point came when, at the age of 16, my dad died. That is the day I knew even God had rejected me.

20130407-100913.jpg

It took me 26 years to realize I couldn’t survive in the world all alone in my tiny cynical prison. It was literally killing me. Then Jesus came and scooped me up. He held me, gave me a reason to hope the world could be right again. I turned a corner, began facing myself in the mirror, realized my cynical little life was not the world’s doing. I believed so many lies. I went from being a full fledged cynic to sporadic cynic. What can I say? It’s a process. It took 26 years to get here. Hopefully it won’t take as many years to get back.

20130407-101522.jpg

I’m leaving for Africa in 2 weeks. When God called me to be a missionary, I thought it was so I could help him. Haha! This last year he’s really shown me how he did it to help me. You see I pray fervently for him to change me. I don’t want to be a cynic anymore! Over this last year, I’ve felt love like I’ve never felt it before. I’ve received multiple messages from friends on the ship saying how excited they are for me to come back. I’ve received so much support and encouragement from friends and family stateside I am blown away! My teeny tiny cynical heart is growing. And suddenly I realize God!

20130407-103526.jpg

20130407-103814.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cynic is dying! The cynic is dying! Shout praises to God! The cynic is dying!

20130407-104042.jpg
His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

2 thoughts on “death of a cynic…

Comments are closed.