no fool here…

Well maybe I’m a bit of a fool sometimes? This day seems to bring them out in droves. That is no joke. I went to work and 4 people called out sick. Six people showed up sick. Four called out sick from the preop area. We seem to have the plague going around our OR. I don’t think it’s good that April fool’s day has fallen on a Monday either. My second case should have only taken 30 minutes to complete. It is a simple procedure on most occasions. Unfortunately, this good case went bad very quickly and the patient lost almost 2 liters of blood in a 10 minute window. Thankfully, nobody panicked. The bleeding was contained. Blood was given. The patient was transferred to CVICU and Lord willing, will recover. This job has had no small amount of stress or excitement. But wait! It gets better! They also follow me home! Almost every single week since I’ve been with this job, I’ll get a phone call from them. Oh, come to work early Michelle. Dont come to work tomorrow Michelle. In the 20 years I’ve worked in the OR, this is a first. It seems like there’s always a first time for anything. Thirty minutes ago, I got the call. Oh, so&so is really sick so we want you to come to work early. Uh huh. What is the case?Oh, Dr so&so has a laparoscopic DaVinci prostatectomy and blah, blah, blah. I stopped hearing anything she said after she said DaVinci. Sorry. I won’t come early to do that case because I have no training to do that case. Oh. Okay. I’m sad to say this is surgery in the USA. If that patient were my mom and the qualified people weren’t available to do her surgery, I’d want to reschedule. But, no, they’ll keep going down the list of employees until they find someone who says yes. Because the machine has to keep moving. It’s a runaway train with nobody to stop it. I did not become a nurse so I could be part of the machine. Oh my sweet friends, take good care of your loved ones. Do not let anybody touch them without doing a thorough screening of every person involved in their care. I’m seriously praying that case gets canceled and rescheduled for another day. It is elective surgery. I’m so looking forward to Africa! Sorry for the rant, but sometimes I just have to.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20130401-212919.jpg

4 thoughts on “no fool here…

Comments are closed.