indescribable gift…

20130227-184610.jpg
John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

God gave us Jesus… As a gift. He turned away as His only Son breathed His last breath. He sacrificed everything so I could gain everything. When I ponder the fundamental truth of the Gospel, I can’t comprehend that amount of love. I mean seriously. If you and I were on a street and someone stepped out in the night to kill us for money, I might shove you out of the way to save your life. I might take the bullet. But if it was you, me, and one of my kids? I wouldn’t shove him in front of you! No way! But that’s what God did. He shoved Jesus in front of me to take the bullet meant for me! How do I even begin to thank God for my life? Seven years in and I still have to pinch myself to make sure I’m not dreaming! What can I give up for my Jesus this year? I’m giving up the American dream to pursue a heavenly dream by serving the poor in west Africa with Mercy Ships for at least two years. I’ll pay them to do my job. I’ll be thrilled to do it. And yet, it’ll be such a small thing considering what Jesus has done for me.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Linked up with Jennifer Dukes Lee

8 thoughts on “indescribable gift…

  1. Absolutely wonderful, this pulled my heart-strings! Congrats on Mercy Ship by the way. We have a friend serving with them, You will certainly be used by God in Big ways there!

  2. Hi Micey
    What is just as wonderful, is that He only asks us to love Him!! Totally different from the ways of the world! Thanks, dear friend! Over via Jennifer’s. hope things are going well on the ship.
    Blessings
    Mia

  3. I just saw this morning that you left a comment on one of my blog posts, sorry I haven’t visited you yet! I love this thought. It’s an odd truth that, just when I think I get it, I realize I don’t comprehend at all. (and I love your hair.)

Comments are closed.