more goodbyes and see you laters… sacrifice?

Anneli

Saturday is the leaving day. Today I said goodbye to two good friends, Anneli and Ben. Ben was in my gateway group. He’s gone home to Virginia to continue his college education. He wants to be a physician assistant. He’s such a sweet guy. I know he’s going to do big things for the Lord. Anneli is from Sweden. She’s an eye nurse. She taught me everything she knows about eye surgery and was with me on the ship for 4 months. She plans on returning in September. It’s really hard to say goodbye to so many great people. I look forward to the day we can say hello! It’s funny how people think my coming here has been a sacrifice. I don’t think of it this way at all. I’m doing what I’ve dreamed about for almost 6 years. Then again, I suppose all the goodbyes and leaving the ones I love behind is a sacrifice. But with the internet, phone service, and text messaging, I don’t feel like I’m missing out on too much. Now the missionaries of old made sacrifices. They really left people behind. No vacations for them. No planes, trains, or automobiles to whisk them away for a break. But I wonder if they thought they were sacrificing? Probably not. The call to missions is so strong. I really feel like I’ve reached the most important part of my life. Missionary Jim Elliot said it best, “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.”

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

