people skills… or not…

I’ve been rather irritated for the past bunch of days. I’ve been yelling at other drivers. I’ve been annoyed at work. I’ve been annoyed at the train station. Blah, blah, blah. I don’t like myself much right now. Where’s the love? Where’s the joy? Where’s the peace? I seem to have misplaced all of it.

I’m more than a bit concerned about my bad attitude. In just 102 days, I’m going to be surrounded by people I don’t know. And I’m not going to be alone again until next year! This is going to be so hard for me. I’m an introvert. I can only deal with being around people so many hours a day. God! What am I going to do?!? If I can’t stand myself when I’m like this, how will anybody else stand me? And the minute I run into conflict, my first reaction is to put up a wall because I figure that person just can’t stand to be around me. I mean, seriously! How am I going to do this?!?

At least here, when I’m not fit for humanity, I can shut the world out for awhile and regroup. But what about there?!? I’m not nice enough. Please pray for me because this is seriously going to be the hardest thing I’ve done in years! I’ve become a hermit of sorts. That one person did me wrong all those years ago and this is the result. Walls. High walls with barbed wire AND razor wire for good measure. God help me!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

5 thoughts on “people skills… or not…

  1. Well, at least you recognize it and know it’s a problem. I know many people with bad attitudes and don’t know they have one. They just keep on thinking they’re is nothing wrong with their attitude … it’s everyone else. So, perhaps you can recognize it when you feel it, take some deep breaths and focus on your faith. You don’t always have to get it right, but at least you admit to it and work on it. Good luck.

  2. Hi there. I think I know what might help. Lou Priolo has written a book that is actually geared toward parents, but its principles and scriptural/gospel-centered basis is good for a course correction no matter what the relationship, including our relationship to God and the fruit that we bear. What you describe is fleshly fruit, and what you want is the fruit of the Spirit. The book is entitled The Heart of Anger and it’s really helpful. He spoke at a parenting conference at our church. Dr. Priolo is a Nouthetic Counselor and has a lot of wisdom on the subject. He has also written some really helpful and inexpensive pamphlets, and one (“Selfishness”) on top of the Heart of Anger presentation he gave, convicted me soundly of my grumbling and complaining and restored a right focus – and always takes you back to the Cross. They can be found here: http://www.timelesschristianbooks.com/search.aspx?find=priolo or here; http://loupriolo.com/

    May our Father grant you much grace and strength in the coming days.

  3. You can do it! You are a victor and not a victim, girl! You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you! He who called you is faithful, and He is able! Praying for encouragement for you today!

Comments are closed.