super gigantic ridiculously fantastic news!!!

Dear Family+Friends,

I have exciting news! I have applied to and been accepted for service with the Mercy Ships in Africa! How did this happen? At the beginning of December, they posted a need for OR nurses on Facebook. I saw it. And then I saw it again the next day. I told myself I couldn’t help them because Galen is still too dependent on me. Then I apologized to the Lord for thinking it was impossible. I prayed to Him and told Him if I saw the need posted one more time, I would at least apply. I saw it again a couple of days later, so I applied. God has been teaching me what real faith looks like. It’s like a bread crumb trail. But Instead of laying out the whole trail, He just drops one crumb at a time. He drops a crumb and I have to pick it up and eat it before He drops the next crumb. It makes life a really great adventure!

WHEN + WHERE? The adventure is tentatively set to begin in June. I will spend 8 weeks in The On Boarding Program, 5 weeks in Texas and 8 weeks in West Africa. Then I will board the ship in either Tenerife and sail with them to Guinea or I will board the ship directly in Guinea. I will arrive in Africa some time in August and stay with the ship through 12/20/12. Then I will return to the USA in time for Christmas.

WHAT NOW? There are many details to work out, like traveling, what to do with my car, how to cut costs in my budget to maximize my saving. I’m estimating that the total expense for 7 months of service will be around $7000.

WHAT CAN YOU DO? Pray, pray, pray. Pray for my health, job, wisdom, and family. Pray for whether you would like to be a part of my team in financial support or prayer support. Do you have a bazillion frequent flyer miles you could donate toward a plane ticket? Do you have a room I could rent to cut living expenses? Would you be interested in renting my car while I’m away? Would you help me organize fundraisers? Please pray about your involvement. I’m so excited for this year and all the Lord is going to do! I’m excited to have you along for the adventure! Stay tuned for updates throughout the year. I love you all!

Astounded by the goodness of God… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

4 thoughts on “super gigantic ridiculously fantastic news!!!

Comments are closed.