Romans 2:1 – Therefore you have no excuse, O man, every one of you who judges. For in passing judgment on another you condemn yourself, because you, the judge, practice the very same things.

Luke 6:37
“Judge not, and you will not be judged; condemn not, and you will not be condemned; forgive, and you will be forgiven”

Do you judge people? Do you look at their actions and think, “why can’t they just change? Why do they have to do that?” Do you judge them by their appearance? Do you see someone make a mistake and think, “I’m so glad I’m not like that.”

I confess I am guilty of this more than I care to think about. But I must think about it if I am to become the person God created me to be. I’m not as bad as I was three years ago, but I am far from where I should be. I recently heard C.J. Mahaney say he is the worst sinner he knows. He doesn’t know anyone better than himself. This helps him keep himself from judging others.

My mom and my sister are in town visiting. Neither is born again. My mom will tell you she just doesn’t know if God is real. She takes things wherever she goes, little things like splenda. She completely doesn’t understand she is stealing. I told her she better ask God to forgive her if she wants to go to heaven! I said it in the most sarcastic, judgmental tone of voice! I was so ashamed of myself! What gives me the right to speak to my mom that way? It is quite a challenge to live and not judge others. It is a test I truly hope to pass.

Dear God,
Forgive me for judging others. Remind me every single day that I am the worst sinner I know. Help me to develop a humble spirit so I am able to love others the way You have commanded. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

In Him…
Michelle

Be sure to visit Spiritual Sundays!

8 thoughts on “Romans 2:1 – Therefore you have no excuse, O man, every one of you who judges. For in passing judgment on another you condemn yourself, because you, the judge, practice the very same things.

  1. Hi Micey,
    I’m sorry you could use the link because the url was too long. I was just thinking. If you want to link again you could use the url of your post without the extension. And I could delete your first link. People who go to the link will only see the scripture and not your other comments. If you want to do that, just go ahead and do another link and I’ll delete the first one.
    Charlotte

  2. I just reread my comment and saw I made a mistake in the first sentence. I’m sure you know I meant couldn’t, not could.
    I think being judgmental is something we all have to fight. Enjoy your Mom and your sister. Hopefully you will be a good influence on both of them. My Mom has been gone for 9 years now and I am an only child. I always wished for a sister or brother.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  3. I think we are all guilty of passing judgement on others from time to time. I appreciate your honesty and I know your heart is in the right place. God help us all to be kinder and more compassionate towards our fellow man. Good post.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  4. Like you, I find I often judge. Hopefully, we’ll continue to see that this is sin and eventually stop it. Thank you for sharing. Happy Spiritual Sunday.

  5. Oh yes, we all judge. God has been working on my heart with this too. It’s a process, like everything else. Thank you God for giving us “eyes” to see the error of our ways, and “eyes” to see the Truth of your Word and to hear your voice of guidence and truth. Be Blessed.

Comments are closed.