2 Corinthians 10:5 – We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ

How do you take thoughts captive to the obedience of Christ? Yesterday, I woke up and thanked God for a new day. I was blessed to go into work later than usual because the heart wasn’t starting until 10am. I got up, took the little dogs out, came back in, prayed, and read the word. This is my normal morning routine. Everything was great. Or so I thought.

The minute I got into the car to go to work, I was suddenly filled with worry and anxiety, the likes of which I hadn’t felt in a very long time. I was immediately thinking of the verse to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. But I couldn’t understand how to do that. My next immediate thought was to fast and pray for protection. I praised God for putting this idea in my head because I had just prayed for Him to teach me to fast and pray this new year. So with resolve in my heart and music to praise my God, I set out to fast and pray for protection and to find out what it really means to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.

Ezra 8 –

Fasting and Prayer for Protection

21 Then I proclaimed a fast there, at the river Ahava, that we might humble ourselves before our God, to seek from him a safe journey for ourselves, our children, and all our goods. 22 For I was ashamed to ask the king for a band of soldiers and horsemen to protect us against the enemy on our way, since we had told the king, “The hand of our God is for good on all who seek him, and the power of his wrath is against all who forsake him.” 23 So we fasted and implored our God for this, and he listened to our entreaty.

When I got to work, I was still overcome by a sense of dread. I was already in deep prayer to the Lord for protection, determined to fast until the sun set. I then started thinking about how to take my thoughts captive and the only thing I could think to do at that moment was to start singing to Him. I kept repeating “I have Decided to Follow Jesus” over and over and slowly the fear and worry started to dissipate. I did this all morning as I had surgery to focus on as well.

I ended up praying for and with my patient as he was a believer. As we prayed together before he went to sleep, more of the anxiety was alleviated. As the day progressed my fears just disappeared. I was so focused on the Lord, I was finally starting to understand how important fasting and praying could be.

Mark 9 – 14 And when He came to the disciples, He saw a great multitude around them, and scribes disputing with them. 15 Immediately, when they saw Him, all the people were greatly amazed, and running to Him, greeted Him. 16 And He asked the scribes, “What are you discussing with them?”
17 Then one of the crowd answered and said, “Teacher, I brought You my son, who has a mute spirit. 18 And wherever it seizes him, it throws him down; he foams at the mouth, gnashes his teeth, and becomes rigid. So I spoke to Your disciples, that they should cast it out, but they could not.”
19 He answered him and said, “O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? How long shall I bear with you? Bring him to Me.” 20 Then they brought him to Him. And when he saw Him, immediately the spirit convulsed him, and he fell on the ground and wallowed, foaming at the mouth.
21 So He asked his father, “How long has this been happening to him?”
And he said, “From childhood. 22 And often he has thrown him both into the fire and into the water to destroy him. But if You can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”
23 Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”
24 Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”
25 When Jesus saw that the people came running together, He rebuked the unclean spirit, saying to it, “Deaf and dumb spirit, I command you, come out of him and enter him no more!” 26 Then the spirit cried out, convulsed him greatly, and came out of him. And he became as one dead, so that many said, “He is dead.” 27 But Jesus took him by the hand and lifted him up, and he arose.
28 And when He had come into the house, His disciples asked Him privately, “Why could we not cast it out?”
29 So He said to them, “This kind can come out by nothing but prayer and fasting.”

When it was time for my lunch break, I took my Bible and went outside to warm myself in the sun. I looked up the passage about taking every thought captive.

2 Corinthians 101 I, Paul, myself entreat you, by the meekness and gentleness of Christ—I who am humble when face to face with you, but bold toward you when I am away!— 2 I beg of you that when I am present I may not have to show boldness with such confidence as I count on showing against some who suspect us of walking according to the flesh. 3 For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh. 4 For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. 5 We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, 6 being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.

The words in bold jumped out at me. Our weapons are not of the flesh! Our weapons are divine! I get it! We can’t just get rid of fear and anxiety in our own power. We have weapons that only come through our belief and faith in our Lord! I don’t know what was going on yesterday or why I was feeling so attacked. What I do know is that through the divine weapons of fasting and praying, my fears and anxieties were taken captive to the obedience of Christ! By lunch time I was set free! The rest of the day was awesome! Thank You God for Your protection! I love You!!!

1ff001a560fbe5b302d9f987a72ce1e8

Head over to John Piper’s blog for a great post on fasting. And be sure to check out Spiritual Sundays!

10 thoughts on “2 Corinthians 10:5 – We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ

  1. amen Michelle! We have access, through our mediator the Lord Jesus and by the Holy Spirit, to God’s supernatural power—to resist the devil, fight principalities & strongholds and be victorious in the battle, by faith, as we call upon His Name, when the attacks come at us. He is much more powerful than all these things. He has all power over these things! THE WORD is so powerfu, wielded and held up against these things—– this weapon of warfare is spiritual power from God. We have access! Thank you Lord!

  2. Praise The Lord! Michelle,
    This is to encourage you…
    Eph 6:11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.
    Eph 6:12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
    Eph 6:13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.
    Eph 6:14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;
    Eph 6:15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;
    Eph 6:16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.
    Eph 6:17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:
    Eph 6:18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

    God bless!

    Calvary Faith

  3. Thank you for this encouraging post Micey. The weapons Satan has fashioned against us are mighty, but they pale in comparison to the weapons God has given us. With Him we can win the victory, without Him, we can do nothing.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  4. So much of our attitude, thoughts and actions begin in our mind. Thank God He gives us the power to pull every thought into obedience to Him by HIs power. Thanks for sharing.

  5. You already have so many good comments that I will not try to add my thoughts. I just wanted you to know that I did come by and that I feel blessed and strengthened by what you wrote. I do read what John Piper has to say on a regular basis.

  6. WOW~~ We should all do that more often. What a great example of what we should be doing we were feeling a bit over the top.
    Thank-you and God Bless,
    Ginger

  7. Always encouaged by your post! You speak deep and and I like that. Our Lord God has given us great weapons to fight spiritual darkness. The Word, The Blood, The Armor, Prayer and Fasting, Prayer Language. Tomorrow beings a 21 day fast unto the Lord. Of course my flesh says no way, but my spirit man will rise up and obey by the power of the Holy Spirit.
    Blessings to you and yours 2009-

  8. I so enjoy reading your posts. You always bless me with your insight and your honesty. Have a wonderfully blessed New Year!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

Comments are closed.